Birthday

It was my birthday on the 2nd and it started auspiciously with no hot water. Arranged for the “gasman” to come round early next week, had a quick cold shower.
M had the day off too so we left the house early to catch an exhibition I wanted to see before going for lunch at my sisters. This was 21:21 at the University of the Creative Arts displaying the textiles of Keiko Sudo and the Nuno Corporation. The gallery space was filled with tall columns of textiles (a forest) with samples to touch (and fondle!) at the side. We were not permitted to touch the columns (of course) but it was so tempting to dive underneath the bottom of some them and stand inside and be surrounded by the fabric. My favourite textile, which I found most inspirational ) was entitled “tanabata” it had been constructed by using origami techniques and slashing with a hot knife.
We then drove on to my sister’s nearby where she served us a lovely lunch of butternut squash and treated me to gifts, including a beautiful book on 3 Dimensional embroidery.  Afterwards we travelled over to my parents in Kent who took us out for a slap up Curry at the local Tandoori House.
So apart from the early hot waterless experience a very good day indeed!

