Kristmas Kirigami Snow

wp-image-296228743jpg.jpg

Stuck to the window or the wall, hanging from the tree or topping a present these snowflakes can be substituted for the real thing when a white Christmas is not a possibility.

I couldn’t resist following some folding with some cutting.  The simplest Christmas decorations are the paper snowflakes from childhood. This was a welcome return to my Kirigami habit from previous years. I started one year with an explosion of kirigami.

Followed by a whole year of following a sequence

Whenever I felt like breaking away from designs provided by my desk calendar I ventured over to Omiyage Blogs, where there are a number of seasonal kirigami. These are the results of a year long kirigami series – 1 for each week of the year.  For todays snowflakes I headed over to the Kirigami project (a collaborative creative project from Marisa Edghill of Omiyage and Geri Jewitt of The Languid Lion.), where I downloaded the free printable templates for December. I cut these from 6 inch squares of regular printer paper, but these would be easier on the hands if cut from thinner origiami paper

